Week 2…Babies Babies BABIES!!

Week 2 presents some very important as well as helpful information. I’m so anxious to have children of my own after this week because I really cannot wait to notice all of the things that we learned this week. From brain development, temperament, and secure attachment, I’m honestly interested to raise a child and notice all of the milestones that they are supposed to achieve in growing and developing.

So many children are not afforded the best chances possible in this life. It is of no fault of their own, but certain circumstances lead them to be not as well taken care of as other children. One way that mothers can ensure that their little ones are in the best health is by breastfeeding. Breastfeeding is a very important part of an infant’s health as well as bonding between mother and child. “Babies who are exclusively breastfed are less often sick” (Berger, 2014). Other positive affects of breastfeeding are disease protection, protection against lifelong diseases such as diabetes and high blood pressure. This issue is one that I fully support. I think that children should be given the best chance possible in life and the one things a mother can do is breastfeed their child. Even if the mother cannot breastfeed directly, I think they should still consider pumping their milk. I would only suggest not breastfeeding is if the mother is physically unable to do so. My mother could not breastfeed me, and I only pray that I am able to nurse my children when they are born.

I looked around the web for some differences in culture when it comes to breastfeeding. I found a blog of a mother who moved from Canada to Mongolia when her son was 4 months old. She was in for a real culture shock. Mongolians believe the breast milk is not just for children but also for anyone. She stated that there was not one person that she met who did not like the taste of breast milk. In Mongolia, it was not uncommon for children to nurse until they were 6 years old. Yes, 6! I know, I cannot believe it either! Can you imagine nursing a child with teeth and can read? Yea, me either! She also found out that from the time of birth until about 3 months, Mongolia infants are packaged to their mother’s and fed at the first signs of crying. They aren’t changed often or burped often, but they are fed on demand all day long. Mongolians but a really big emphasis on breastfeeding, to the point that one mother breast fed until the child was 9 years old!

I really enjoyed exploring this practice in other cultures. I think I will be a really big fan of breastfeeding because of the benefits that it provides, but I don’t believe that I will be going to the extremes of the Mongolians! Breast milk is very important to the overall health of the child and the mother. Even if it will be an inconvenience to me, it’s for the better of my child, and for that reason alone I’ll sacrifice what I need to in order for he or she to receive the proper nutrition.

If you want to read the article, check it out here: http://www.incultureparent.com/2011/02/breastfeeding-land-genghis-khan/

Resources

Berger, K. (2014). Developing person through childhood & adolescence: With dsm5 update. S.l.: Worth Pub.

2 thoughts on “Week 2…Babies Babies BABIES!!

  1. sstaud says:

    Hi Malorie,
    Wow, I have to agree with your comments about Mongolia! Does show how certain practices are taboo in one culture and perfectly normal in another.

    I am a big proponent of breastfeeding, even though I was unable to do it, and I concur with your comment that pumping should be a option seriously considered if the “natural” method is impracticable or impossible. I found evidence in my own research that breast milk and the act of breastfeeding have the potential too minimize or prevent obesity, especially among those mothers who carry a genetic predisposition for obesity.

    Even with all of the direct, health benefits breastfeeding imparts, I think you hit the nail on the head when you commented about bonding. This is such an important step in the long process of raising a child–what better way to promote a strong bond that by this very simple, basic, yet essential act?

    Sandra

    Like

  2. lakeishatrice says:

    Thank you for sharing such an informative post about breast feeding. As a person who has no children of her own, I knew about the importance of breast feeding but not to this extent. It was very informative to learn how effective it is against lifelong issues such as high blood pressure and diabetes. Also, leaning about Mongolia and their practices was an eye opener. I couldn’t imagine having to breastfeed an active six year old, in the 1st grade, with teeth! Wow is all I can say!!

    Like

Share Your Thoughts With Me...I'd Love to Read Them

