Week 4…Half Way There!!

This week has been filled with so much for me! I’ve had so many highs and lows in my personal and professional life that I almost wanted to quit this week. I wanted to throw in the towel on it all and just say forget it. It seemed like all the walls were crashing down on my head and I just could not continue with everything all at once. I finally sat down and looked at the assignment for the week. I started to look at the educators who contributed to the field of Early Childhood Education and I started to understand the richness that this field has to offer. From reading about the leaps and bounds that the field has come, I’m excited to now be someone who will make a contribution.

The two educators/advocates that I chose for the week were Bill and Hilary Clinton. They both have worked for decades to ensure that children, no matter the circumstances, should have a chance at a quality education. They both believe that the earlier the education begins the better. They are also both advocates for After School Programming. As a part of the assignment for the week, I was asked to post some of my favorite quotes.

This quote should inspire all Early Childhood professionals to continue the fight to ensuring that all children have an enriching education.

This quote should inspire all Early Childhood professionals to continue the fight to ensuring that all children have an enriching education.

This is a very true statement. Home is where children begin their educational journey's. We have to make sure that we are there to aide parents in providing them educational resources at an early age.

This is a very true statement. Home is where children begin their educational journey’s. We have to make sure that we are there to aide parents in providing them educational resources at an early age.

Learning this week about many different advocates, professionals, and educators in the Early Childhood field, I’m still taken back to week two and Mr. Hernandez. He stated that “every day I go to work and look forward to it because I know the services that I’m providing for children, is to their benefit. It’s not anything that’s going to benefit me”. This is still a quote that I think affects children just as much as adults. All of the educators and contributors to the Early Childhood field have taken each and every little person that the services that it provides into consideration. As more practitioners are added, more strides will be made. I just hope to add to the discipline in more ways than one.

2 thoughts on “Week 4…Half Way There!!

  1. sstaud says:

    Hello Malorie,
    I really connected with your posts/quotes. Your week 4 blog captures and reinforced two of my personal beliefs: that education needs to begin at the earliest of ages; and, that we need to look at each child individually, seeing how and what their experiences are, then teach to that instead of trying to force-feed a one-size-fits-all curriculum.

    I can also relate to the roller coaster ride you alluded to in your personal/professional life. I have had a few rides like that myself, but, as you say, there are many paths to pursue in early childhood education and keeping the goals in sight can sometimes help us muddle through. I had a presentation this week and several of those attending were quite rude and impolite during my talk. I was angry at first, but took heart when many of the others apologized for their associates’ behavior and complimented me on the presentation. I suppose it is easy to focus on the negative, but looking for the positive stops one from wasting precious energy trying to fix things out of our control.

    Thanks for the posts!

    Sandi

    Like

  2. Magen Wheeldon says:

    I really liked your choice of quotes by important people who have added to the field of early childhood education. I have always been an advocate for parents teaching their children at home. It is incredible the amount of teachable moments that can be found within the home. For instance, developing math skills by using a measuring cup to help mom and dad cook, learning about nutrition when helping plant the garden, learning how to measure and use tools when helping build a wood project. The list of activities that can foster learning within the home environment are endless. Not to mention continuing to work on literacy at home is extremely beneficial for a child. We like to practice literacy skills even in the car, having our boys read billboards, street signs and building names as we are driving down the street. There are always moments to foster learning.

    Liked by 1 person

Share Your Thoughts With Me...I'd Love to Read Them

